Being a Tourist

For My Friend, Berggruen

You guys should be proud of me. I went to an art gallery today and didn’t touch a single piece of art. And I only felt a little bit tempted to touch like less than half of them.

I won’t name any specific paintings that I’ve touched in the past, but I must confess that I have touched some famous ones. Because they’re just sitting there, out in the open and looking at me like, “Molly, I am famous and oh! look at my textures. I am three-dimensional and big and so beautiful.” This makes me a horrible person, I know. Every single time I open up to people and tell them this terrible secret about myself, they judge me and tell me that I have got to get it together and behave myself. Because that junk is expensive.

I feel like I should also clarify that the above confession is not some sort of a double entendre.

Anyway, my not touching any paintings today is an especially big deal because the art gallery I went to was one almost entirely dedicated to my favorite artist evah, PABLO PICASSO. It’s called the Museum Berggruen, and it’s the modernist art collection of a German art dealer named Heinz Berggruen. Apparently Berggruen was like bestest friends with Picasso and got lots o’ paintings and stuff from him. He left Germany in the 1930s because of Hitler but came back later and then sold his collection of magic and splendor to Berlin for a really great price as a way of saying, “Sorry I hated you for a while; let’s be friends again.”

So now this museum is filled to the brim with Picasso paintings (and also a few from Paul Klee, Henri Matisse, and like two other people), and the whole world can go in there and behold all the glory that is Picasso and modern art. And if you get the audio guide, you can also hear all about his womanizing ways. He had four million lovers, and made portraits of most of ’em.

And probably the previous statement is some sort of a double entendre.

I’ll most likely be spending all of my spare time at this museum, because Picasso is the bomb diggity. While I’m there, I’ll also work on not touching priceless works of art anymore. So you can go ahead and stop judging me now.

This translates as, "Hi Beggruen, my bestest friend evah, I love you the most and want you to have this fabulous drawing I made and also one million other fabulous drawings and paintings. Because I love you. Love, Picasso."

This translates as, “Hi Berggruen, my bestest friend evah, I love you the most and want you to have this fabulous drawing I made, and also one million other fabulous drawings and paintings. Because I love you the most. Love, Picasso.”

Standard

One thought on “For My Friend, Berggruen

  1. Pingback: Where to Go to find Picasso | The Frogmartian Chronicles

Leave a Reply

